Indivisible, a poem

We are like two countries you and I

Who throughout our history have gone to war

Burning the sacred monuments with our rage

As our children huddle and pray for peace.

 

We think we are fighting for freedom

As if I could evict you from the places you inhabit

Within the boundaries of my skin

When no bullet, fire or distance could ever extract you from me

 

As if I could return to the self I once was

Before your love transformed me

And drove me mad

For true love comes at a great price

 

It costs us everything

For whatever we love

We must lose.

Oh the terror

 

Of a life without love

And the paradox of it!

For its absence is proof of

Its existence

 

And though we have mounted love’s causalities,

And grown old with despair

In the rubble of morning light

I still hope.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

