Hornets, Weeds, Water, Seeds

Image

image from acelebrationofwomen.org

There is a hornet in the room
and one of us will have to go
out the window into the late
August midafternoon sun.
-James Schuyler

A man stands in front of an audience of teenagers and asks, “How many of you have contemplated suicide?”  It is evident that he is a good speaker and has already won their trust because all of their hands rise into the air.  “We all do,” he says, “because change is always about something dying.”

When it’s time to change, death comes to us and asks,  “What needs to die?”  The answer is not our body.  Not our soul.  It’s whatever is holding us back.  It’s the hornet who has to go out the window, not us.

Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?
-Fleetwood Mac

Sometimes I don’t know the answers to these questions.  But I try to remind myself that don’t have to know the answers.  Today, all I need to do is sail through the ocean tide of now.  To be present and to breathe.  If I can practice this today, and then again tomorrow, I can stop worrying about the future because I am cultivating a life of peace by tending these seeds.  And someday I’ll have a garden.  And fruit. And maybe some kale too.

So may we be gentle with ourselves today.  Pull the weeds that block the light. And soak in the river of life, the river beneath our feet.  It’s always flowing.  It’s always giving.  The tides may be changing, but we can open our roots, our hands and our windows.  Release the hornet to the wind and receive ourselves again.

Leave a comment

Filed under light, spirituality, youth ministry

Leave a Reply

